Football 2 years ago

Jurman sweeps Sydney FC awards

  • Jurman sweeps Sydney FC awards

    SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 12: Matthew Jurman of Sydney FC is challenged by Roly Bonevacia of Wellington Phoenix during the round 23 A-League match between Sydney FC and the Wellington Phoenix at Allianz Stadium on March 12, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

Matt Jurman has been rewarded for a career-best A-League campaign with a clean sweep of Sydney FC's major awards, including player of the year.

The 26-year-old defender beat Milos Ninkovic, Filip Holosko and Brandon O'Neill to the club's top honour on Tuesday night, and also took out players' player of the year and members' player of the year.

It makes him just the second player to collect all three gongs, after Serbian midfielder Milos Dimitrijevic won the trio last season.

You might also like

Jurman has been the backbone of Sydney's consistent defence this season, with 90-minute appearances in all but two A-League matches.

He also memorably starred as man of the match in the Sky Blues' 2-1 Asian Champions League (ACL) upset of reigning champions Guangzhou Evergrande for keeping $65 million Colombian international striker Jackson Martinez quiet.

"It's a big honour to take home these awards," Jurman said.

"It was great to hold down my position this year and not miss too many games.

"I felt my performances were good and I'm proud to be recognised with these three awards."

International marquee Holosko picked up the golden boot for his 10 goals.

Matildas star Alanna Kennedy was named W-League players' player of the year for her solid defensive displays all the way to the grand final, while national teammate Kyah Simon's six goals in 12 appearances earned her the W-League golden boot.


Player of the year: Matt Jurman

Players' player of the year: Matt Jurman

Members' player of the year: Matt Jurman

Golden boot: Filip Holosko

W-League players' player of the year: Alanna Kennedy

W-League golden boot: Kyah Simon

National Youth League players' player of the year: Daniel Araujo

0 0
please wait...